Orwell Prize 2009 Launches with Blog Prize and Debate on Failing States

The Orwell Prize is delighted to announce that, in the year George Orwell’s diaries blog came online, we will be inviting submissions for a Special Prize for Political Blogs.

The Orwell Prize 2009 opened for submissions for the Book Prize, Journalism Prize and Special Prize for blogs on 22nd October 2008, and will close on 14th January 2009.

The occasion was marked by a debate, ‘Is journalism failing failing states?’, with the panel comprising Lord (Paddy) Ashdown (former Lib Dem leader, diplomat); Peter Beaumont (Journalism Prize Winner 2007, The Observer); David Loyn (BBC Developing World Correspondent, shortlisted for the Book Prize 2006); and Michela Wrong (New Statesman, shortlisted for the Book Prize 2006). The debate was chaired by Jean Seaton, Director of the Orwell Prize, who also announced that the judges for the coming Prize will be Jenny Abramsky, Ian Jack, Ferdinand Mount and Geoffrey Wheatcroft.

For more information, visit the Orwell Prize website.