Orwell Prize 2011 launches

This year’s Orwell Prize – run by the MST on behalf of the Council of the Orwell Prize – is now open for entries.

The Orwell Prize 2011 was launched at the Frontline Club, London on Thursday 21st October. Jean Seaton, director of the Prize, announced that this year’s judges are:

Book Prize

  • Jim Naughtie (presenter of BBC Radio 4’s Today programme)
  • Ursula Owen (founder director of Virago Press, project director of the Free Word Centre)
  • Will Skidelsky (books editor of The Observer)

Journalism Prize

  • Martin Bright (political editor of the Jewish Chronicle, shortlisted for the Orwell Prize for Journalism 2007)
  • Michela Wrong (journalist and author, shortlisted for the Orwell Prize for Books and Journalism on multiple occasions)

Blog Prize

  • David Allen Green (lawyer and blogger, shortlisted for the Orwell Prize for Blogs 2010 as ‘Jack of Kent’)
  • Gaby Hinsliff (former political editor of The Observer)

The Prize also unveiled its new website, designed to better reflect its programme of public discussions on politics and literature and status as the official home of George Orwell online. And for the first time, the Orwell Prize has a presence in the app market. The first chapters of last year’s Book Prize shortlist are now available via Ether Books.

The launch announcement was followed by a panel debate on ‘Poverty and the Spending Review’ featuring Chris Giles (economics editor of the Financial Times), Lisa Harker (former director of ippr), Dr Patrick Nolan (chief economist at Reform) and David Walker (co-author of The Verdict: Did Labour Change Britain? and Unjust Rewards, both with Polly Toynbee). You can now watch the debate in full on the Orwell Prize website and YouTube channel.

The Prize will be making poverty a theme of its events this year, and will be marking the 75th anniversary of Orwell’s journey to Wigan Pier in January 2011.

Entries for this year’s Prize remain open until 19th January 2011, for all books, journalism and blogs (with a clear relationship with the UK or Ireland) first published in 2010. For further entry details, visit the Orwell Prize website or contact the administrator.